Memorial Day


Memorial Day is a federal holiday in the United States celebrated every year on the last Monday of the month of May. Originally, it was known as Decoration Day and started to honor the Union and the Confederate soldiers who died during the American Civil War.

Later, in 1900’s it had become a day to celebrate all American soldiers who died in any war while serving for the nation. In 1967, it was officially named as Memorial Day and in 1971, it became a federal holiday. The practice of honoring soldiers who lost their lives in wars has ancient roots.


Quick Facts: –

  • A lot of people confuse Memorial Day and Veterans Day with each other but they are different.
  • The red poppy is the official flower of Memorial Day.
  • This day is known as the official start of the summer season.
  • Schools, Post Office, most Banks and other businesses are closed on this day.
  • Initially, it was called Decoration Day because family members of deceased soldiers used to decorate their graves with flowers.
  • This day was not always celebrated on the last Monday of May. It was observed on May 30.
  • There are a total of nine states that observe Confederate Memorial Day. These states are Texas, South Carolina, North Carolina, Alabama, Virginia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee and Georgia.
  • On December 20, 2000, President Bill Clinton signed the ‘National Moment of Remembrance Act’.
  • This act designated 3 P.M. as a moment to pause and consider the true meaning of this day.
  • Many cities host parades and other official celebrations to mark the day.