Mount Mayon


Mount Mayon is an active volcano located in south-eastern Luzon, Philippines. It is called the world’s most perfect volcanic cone because of its symmetrical shape. This volcano is the center of Mayon Volcano National Park.

It is the Philippines’ most active volcano as it has erupted almost 50 times in the past 400 years. This stratovolcano rises to 2462 meters above the Albay Gulf on Luzon Island. It has very steep upper slopes averaging 35-40 degrees.


Quick Facts: –

  • The first ever eruption of Mount Mayon took place in 1616 and since then it has erupted for about 58 times.
  • Mount Mayon erupted in 1814 and the eruption killed more than 1200 people and devastated several towns.
  • Cagawa is the closest town to this volcano. It is 16 kilometers away from the volcano’s base.
  • Mount Mayon is located on the Ring of Fire which is a chain of volcanoes situated along the edge of the Pacific Ocean.
  • Mount Mayon has been the Philippine counterpart of Japan’s Mount Fuji as it also exudes a panoramic beauty.
  • This volcano is the main landmark of Albay Province and one of the country’s major tourist spots.
  • There was three eruptions that occurred in the 20th century in 1984, 1993, and then in 1999.
  • The most recent eruption of this volcano occurred on January 13, 2018. The explosion contained steam, ash, and lava flow.