Fun & Easy Science for Kids
Sponsored Links :

Facts About the Planets for Kids Video


                                                All Planets Facts

A planet can be defined as a celestial body that orbits around the Sun and has sufficient mass so that its self-gravity can overcome rigid body forces. Our Solar system has total eight planets which are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Saturn, Jupiter, Neptune and Uranus. Jupiter is the largest and Mercury is the smallest of all of them. Venus is the brightest planet in the earth’s sky and can be seen with the naked human eye as well sometimes. Mercury and Venus are two planets that do not have any moons.

Quick Facts: –

  • Despite of being majorly covered in ocean water, the Earth has been proved vital to one of the most unique features the universe which is human life.
  • Jet stream winds travelling on the Neptune can measure more than 1,500 miles per hour.
  • Jupiter spins very quickly on its axis. A day on this planet lasts only 9 hours and 55 minutes.
  • It is also home to the biggest and most violent storm in the known universe. This storm is known as the Red Spot.
  • Earth, Mars, Venus and Mercury are terrestrial planets. Saturn, Jupiter, Neptune and Uranus are gas giants.
  • The axis of the Uranus is tilted at a 97 degree angle that means it orbits lying on its side.
  • There is a magnetic field surrounding our planet. It protects us from the blasts of radiation and particles sent by the Sun.
  • A “Waterworld” planet named GJ1214b 40 which is light years away has been discovered by NASA.


Cite This Page

You may cut-and-paste the below MLA and APA citation examples:

MLA Style Citation

Declan, Tobin. " Facts for Kids about Planets ." Easy Science for Kids, Aug 2020. Web. 06 Aug 2020. < >.

APA Style Citation

Tobin, Declan. (2020). Facts for Kids about Planets. Easy Science for Kids. Retrieved from

Cite this Page

Sponsored Links :