Fun & Easy Science for Kids
Sponsored Links :

Mount Hood


Mount Hood is one of the most prominent of the cascade volcanoes. It is only 50 miles from the major Oregon city of Portland. With a height measured at 11,249 feet, it is the highest peak in Oregon. It is home to 12 different glaciers.

Eliot Glacier is the largest by volume at 73,000 acre feet and the largest by surface area is the Coe-Ladd Glacier system at 531 acres. It got its present name on October 29, 1792, by Lt. William Broughton. It was named after Lord Samuel Hood, a British Admiral who served during the Revolutionary War.


Quick Facts: –

  • It is a dormant volcano. The last confirmed volcanic activity took place in 1865 and 1866.
  • This volcano is believed to be more than 50,000 years old. It does not have a history of violent explosive eruptions.
  • During the past 15,000 years, Mount Hood has had at least four major eruption periods.
  • On October 18, 1805, this mountain was spotted by Lewis and Clark.
  • It is believed to have maintained a consistent summit elevation, varying by no more than a few feet.
  • This mountain is located within the Mount Hood National Forest, which comprises 1,067,043 acres of land.
  • It is the focal point of the Mount Hood national Forest.
  • It is also known as Wy’east by the Multnomah tribe.
  • The snow-capped peak of the mountain was used as a landmark by early settlers.
  • Pyroclastic flows and mud flows are the main hazards posed by this volcano.



Cite This Page

You may cut-and-paste the below MLA and APA citation examples:

MLA Style Citation

Declan, Tobin. " All Facts for Kids about Mount Hood ." Easy Science for Kids, Jan 2021. Web. 21 Jan 2021. < >.

APA Style Citation

Tobin, Declan. (2021). All Facts for Kids about Mount Hood. Easy Science for Kids. Retrieved from

Cite this Page
Can not find what you looking for?


Sponsored Links :

Image Web Accessibile Compliant website