Mount Kilimanjaro

Mount Kilimanjaro is the tallest mountain on the African continent and also the highest free-standing mountain in the world. The mountain lies 205 miles from the Equator. It is situated in the northern portion of Tanzania, within the Kilimanjaro National Park. Mount Kilimanjaro measures 5,895 meters above sea level.

From top to bottom it consists of five climatic zones. It is a giant stratovolcano which is classified as dormant not extinct. It was about 3 million years ago when this mountain began to form. It has three volcanic cones that are Mawenzi, Shira and Kibo. Shira is the oldest and Kibo is the youngest of the cones.


Fast Facts: –

  • Mount Kilimanjaro’s snow caps are diminishing and they have lost more than 80% of their mass since 1912.
  • The first person who made the successful journey up Mount Kilimanjaro was Hans Meyer in 1889.
  • Approximately 25,000 people attempt to reach the summit every year but just 2/3 of them succeed.
  • The fastest verified ascent was made by Italian Bruno Brunod. He took only 5 hours 38 minutes and 40 seconds.
  • Mawenzi, Kibo and Shira are the three volcanoes that make up Kilimanjaro.
  • The last volcanic activity of Mount Kilimanjaro occurred 200 years back. It resulted in the ash pit that can be seen from Uhuru Peak.
  • The base of this mountain covers an area of about 388,500 hectares.
  • On the lower slopes of the mountain, coffee is grown and it is considered a major export.
  • There are total 7 official routes to reach the summit. Six of them are used for ascent and one is used for descent only.
  • The members of Chagga People call this mountain their home.
  • Kilimanjaro National Park was opened for public access in 1977. In 1987, it was designated as a World Heritage Site.