Mount Tate

Mount Tate is one of the Japan’s three holy mountains along with Mount Fuji and Mount Haku. This mountain is located in the northern half of Japan’s Kita Alps, in the south-eastern area of Toyama Prefecture. Toyama Prefecture is a general term for three peaks Mount O, Mount Onanji and Mount Fujinooritate.

The hiking season is between April and November. The summit of Mount Tate is located at an elevation of 3,015 meters. It is a part of Chubu-Sangaku National Park. This National Park was opened on December 4, 1934.


Quick Facts: –

  • Mount Tate is composed primarily of granite and gneiss.
  • This mountain is the source of the Hayatsuki River and Tsurugisawa, tributaries of the Kurobe River.
  • It is also ranked among the Top 100 famous mountains in Japan.
  • Mount Tate was climbed by Saeki no Ariyori for the first time during Japan’s Asuka period.
  • Toyama is a popular starting point for day expeditions to climb this mountain.
  • Tate-yama volcano is surrounded by high peaks of the North Japan Alps.
  • The Tate-yama volcano is a stratovolcano which contains a caldera of 4 kilometers in width.
  • The caldera of this volcano is believed to be the result of erosion rather than an explosion.
  • The Midagahara plateau has been formed inside the caldera because of repeated eruptions of lava and pyroclastics.