Presidents’ Day

Presidents’ Day falls on the third Monday in the month of February. This day is celebrated in the United States and is a national federal holiday. It is meant to celebrate George Washington and all other Presidents of the US. It was originally established in 1885 in recognition of the first US President George Washington.

He was also the only president unanimously elected. Each state has the freedom to choose what to call this day and how to celebrate it. There were four presidents born in February including George Washington, Abraham Lincoln, William Harrison and Ronald Reagan.


Quick Facts: –

  • The actual birthday of George Washington is February 22, 1732.
  • His birthplace is located in Colonial Beach, VA and now is a national monument.
  • In the late 1980s, it became a common practice for retailers to use Presidents’ Day as a day to sell off old stock.
  • Since 1888, Washington’s Farewell Address has been read in the senate most years.
  • George Washington remained President for two terms from 1789 to 1793 and from 1793 to 1797.
  • Senator Steven Wallace Dorsey of Arkansas was the first one to propose the official observance of Washington’s Birthday.
  • In 1960s, Congress proposed a measure called the Uniform Monday Holiday Act to shift several federal holidays to predetermined Mondays.
  • There are a total of 35 national parks named after American Presidents.