Fiordland National Park

The Fiordland National Park is located on New Zealand‘s South Island. This national park is made up of mountains, waterfalls, lakes, and rainforests. It covers an area of more than 8,000 square miles which makes it the largest in New Zealand.

It is also home to fiords that are believed to have been created over the past 100,000 years. A fiord can be defined as a valley that was carved into a U-shape by a glacier and flooded with water. It was declared a World Heritage Area in 1986.


Quick Facts: –

  • Captain Cook and his crew were the first Europeans to visit the Fiordland National Park in 1770s.
  • It was established as a reserve in 1904, it was designated a national park in 1952.
  • There are a total of 14 fiords in this national park. Milford Sound is the best well known of all of them. The deepest one is Doubtful Sound with a depth of 421 meters.
  • Because of its beauty, the Milford Sound was described as the ‘Eighth Wonder of the World’ by Rudyard Kipling.
  • It is also the wettest inhabited place in New Zealand, as well as one of the wettest places in the world.
  • The Kakapo is the only flightless parrot in the world which called this national park home.
  • It is also home to Sutherland Falls and Browne Falls which are among the tallest waterfalls in the world.
  • Human activity within this park has been limited. In early times, Maori people hunted and fished here.
  • Within the park’s boundaries, several large lakes lie either partially or wholly. Some of them are Lake Te Anau, Lake Monowai, Lake Manapouri and Lake Hauroko.
  • It is bordered by the Humboldt, Livingstone, and Takitimu mountains on the east and by the Tasman Sea on all other sides.