in ,

Flags of African Countries

Occupying an area of 11.7 million square miles, Africa comes lauded as the second-largest continent of the world. This second most populous continent is home to the largest number of countries in the world. While Algeria is the largest, Seychelles is the smallest.

Each African country has its own flag which has a place of pride in the hearts of the people of that country. Below are the general descriptions of the flags of some of the important countries located in the continent of Africa.

african-countriesAlgeria Flag

Situated in North Africa, Algeria became independent in 1962 after reaming under the French colonial rule for more than a century.  The National Liberation Front (FLN), the country’s premier political party, was responsible for securing its freedom.


Officially adopted on July 3, 1962, the national flag of Algeria consists of two equal bands of equal width. These vertical bands are of green (hoist) and white colors. A red crescent centered over the bands contains a five-pointed star of red color.

Flag of Egypt


The flag of Egypt features three equal bands of red, white and black. The bands are horizontal. A gold Eagle of Saladin, the national emblem of the country, is centred in the middle of the white. The flag has an aspect ratio of 2:3.

Flag of South Africa


The flag of South Africa features a total of sis colours. The two horizontal bands of red (top) and blue are of equal width and are separated by a central green band that is edged in white. The green band splits into a horizontal Y, officially the colours of the South African flag do not have any symbolism.

Kenya Flag


Officially adopted on December 12, 1963, the flag of Kenya has three equal width horizontal bands of black, red, and green. While the red band, outlined in white above and below, is in the middle, white is the top band.

The traditional Masai shield and crossed white spears are centered on the flag.

Flag of Morocco


Officially adopted on November 17, 1915, the flag of Morocco is a deep red field with a green five-pointed linear star, or pentacle in its center. The pentacle, symbolizing the five pillars of Islam, is known as Sulayman’s (Solomon’s) seal.

Nigeria Flag


Flag of Nigeria is a vertical bicolour triband of green and white. Green is on the hoist side. The bands are of equal width. The flag was officially adopted on October 1, 1960, the year Nigeria gained independence from the British.

Flag of Uganda

The flag of Uganda features six equal bands of black (top), yellow, red, black, yellow, and red. The bands are horizontal. Centred in the middle of the flag is a white disk depicting the crested crane, the national bird of the country.


The flag was officially adopted in 1962 the year Uganda gained independence from the colonial rule.

Flag of Ethiopia


Adopted in 1996, the flag of Ethiopia is rectangular. It features three equal bands of green, yellow and red. The bands are horizontal. The gold star on a light blue shield adorns the center of the flag.