Inca Empire

The Inca Empire is also known as the Incan Empire. It was considered the largest empire of pre-Columbian America. It existed in modern day Peru. Manco Capac was the one who established this empire in 1438. It extended across Western South America from Quito in the north to Santiago in the south.

It covered an area of 2 million square kilometers. The remote ancestors of Incas were Stone Age hunters who crossed the Bering Strait from Asia to Alaska. This empire lasted about 100 years, from 1438 to 1532. There were a total of 13 Inca rulers and they ruled about 10 million people.


Quick Facts: –

  • The very first Inca ruler Manco Capac declared himself Sapa Inca, divine son of the Sun.
  • Quechua was the official language of the Inca Empire. They had no written languages and kept their history alive through passing stories from one generation to another.
  • They worshiped many gods and goddesses. Viracocha, the god of nature was the major Incan god.
  • Cusco was the capital of this empire because of it had fertile valleys alongside the Maranon River. It was also surrounded by the Andes Mountains.
  • The Incans built thousands of well-paved roads of more than 30,000 km. but they never invented the wheel.
  • They believed strongly in life after death. They mummified dead people and buried them with treasures to be used in their afterlife.
  • They also sacrificed humans at royal funerals to accompany the dead to the next life.
  • The civilization ended in 1532 when the Spanish arrived.
  • Machu Picchu was the only city of the Incan Empire that was never discovered and destroyed by the Spaniards.