Jeju Island

Jeju Island is the largest island of South Korea with an area of 1849 sq km. It is also one of the nine provinces of the country and the smallest of all of them. It was formed as a result of a volcanic eruption. Jeju City is the capital of Jeju Island. Halla Mountain is the key landmark of this island.

It is also the tallest mountain in South Korea with a height of 6,400 feet. This island has a temperate climate and it rarely falls below the freezing point, not even in winters. It is home to almost 950 different insect species, 198 bird species, 17 mammal, and 8 reptile species.


Fast Facts: –

  • This Island is one the new seven natural wonders of the world.
  • Jeju Island has the finest lava tube system of caves in the entire world.
  • The peak of the Halla Mountain looks like a giant crater. It is actually a dormant volcano.
  • There is a lake inside the crater. The lake is named as Baengnokdam.
  • This island is formed from the outpouring of lava. This is the reason why 90% of its surface is basalt (volcanic rock).
  • The island is also known as ‘Hawaii of Korea’.
  • There are stone statues on the island known as ‘dolharubang’ that means ‘stone grandfather’.
  • These life-size stone statues are of helmet-wearing men. Total 45 of them are in existence.
  • There is a cave named as Manjang cave which is formed by cooling lava. This dark, cold and slippery cave is more than 8 kilometers long.
  • This island is also famous for its different museums like Museum of Miniature, Chocolate Museum etc.
  • The Jeju Island was used by many refugees as a place to stay during the Korean War.