Solar Eclipse

A Solar Eclipse is a natural event. It takes place when the Moon passes in front of the Sun and casts a shadow across Earth. There can be between 2 and 5 solar eclipses each year. This occurs only during a New Moon phase.

There are three main types of a solar eclipse: Partial Eclipse, Annular Eclipse and Total Eclipse. The total Eclipse is also known as totality. It happens when the Moon completely obscures the Sun and only a faint solar corona is left.

Quick Facts: –

  • A total solar eclipse is very rare. It takes place only once in every eighteen months. It can last a maximum of 7 minutes and 30 seconds.
  • There is one more type known as a Hybrid Eclipse, occurring when the type of eclipse shifts between a total and annular eclipse depending on your location on earth.
  • The eclipse shadows travel at a speed of 1,100 mph at the equator and up to 5,000 mph near the poles.
  • In every 18 years and 11 days, almost identical eclipses occur. This duration is known as Saros Cycle.
  • The weather changes noticeably during the condition of a solar eclipse. Generally, the air temperature drops because of the loss of light.
  • The maximum width of the path of the totality is 264 kilometers.
  • You should never look at the Sun directly during an eclipse because the bright light of the Sun can damage human eyes very quickly.
  • After a total solar eclipse, day light takes about one hour to get restored completely.