Fun & Easy Science for Kids
Sponsored Links :

Transition Metals


Transition Metals can be defined as a group of elements in the periodic table that are located at the center of the table including columns 3 through 12. They include metals like copper, titanium, silver, platinum, nickel etc.

They can have an incomplete inner sub shell that allows valence electrons in a shell other than the outer shell. Any other element will have just valence electrons in its outer shell.  Sometimes Lanthanides and Actinides are also included in the group. They are known as inner transition metals.


Quick Facts: –

  • Charles Burywas the first person to use the word “transition” to describe the elements that undergo a transition series during an electron’s change of inner layers.
  • There are a total of 38 transition metals, all having similar properties. They are very hard and have high melting and boiling points.
  • All of them are ductile, malleable with high electrical and heat conductivity. They form coloured compounds.
  • Because of these unique qualities, these metals are often used in industry as catalysts for various chemical reactions.
  • Due to their ability to change oxidation states, these metal ions are very effective catalysts.
  • These metals are harder and less reactive than alkali metals.
  • Some of the transition metals are necessary to keep humans healthy, such as iron, zinc, and chromium.
  • Similar to other metals, they can also conduct electricity.
  • Iron, cobalt, and nickel are the only three elements that produce a magnetic field.



Cite This Page

You may cut-and-paste the below MLA and APA citation examples:

MLA Style Citation

Declan, Tobin. " Fun Facts for Kids about Transition Metals ." Easy Science for Kids, Oct 2020. Web. 26 Oct 2020. < >.

APA Style Citation

Tobin, Declan. (2020). Fun Facts for Kids about Transition Metals. Easy Science for Kids. Retrieved from

Cite this Page
Can not find what you looking for?


Sponsored Links :

Image Web Accessibile Compliant website