Fun & Easy Science for Kids
Sponsored Links :

Coral Sea


The Coral Sea is a region in the South Pacific Ocean between Australia, New Guinea and Vanuatu. It is classified as an interim Australian bioregion. It contains many reefs and islands including the Great Barrier Reef, the world’s largest reef system.

It covers an area of 1,850,000 square miles and has an average depth of 7,854 feet. The maximum depth is 299,990 feet. It is home to sponges, worms, anemones, lobsters, crayfish, crabs, and prawns.


Quick Facts: –

  • The Coral Sea extends a total of 1,200 miles down the northeast coast of Australia.
  • It was named for its numerous coral formations, highlighted by the Great Barrier Reef.
  • The Great Barrier Reef  was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1981.
  • It is home to more than 1,500 species of fish including the coral trout, red-throat emperor, and the clownfish.
  • It is also home to 17 sea snake species including the Aipysurus duboisii which is the world’s most venomous sea snake.
  • It is characterized by its warm and stable climate, with frequent rains and tropical cyclones.
  • This region is subject to typhoons, especially from January to April.
  • During World War 2, it was the scene of a major U.S. victory against the Japanese in 1942.
  • Many shark species are also found in the Coral Sea including the silvertip shark, great hammerhead, and tiger shark.
  • The Coral Sea basin was formed between 48 million and 58 million years ago.



Cite This Page

You may cut-and-paste the below MLA and APA citation examples:

MLA Style Citation

Declan, Tobin. " Coral Sea Facts for Kids ." Easy Science for Kids, Aug 2020. Web. 09 Aug 2020. < >.

APA Style Citation

Tobin, Declan. (2020). Coral Sea Facts for Kids. Easy Science for Kids. Retrieved from

Cite this Page

Sponsored Links :