Gulf of Carpentaria

The Seasons
The Seasons

The Gulf of Carpentaria is a large rectangular but shallow sea covering an area of about 300,000 kilometer square. It is located in the north of Australia, enclosed on three sides by the continent. Willem Janszoon, a Dutch explorer was the first European to explore this region between 1605 and 1606.

It is enclosed on the west by Arnhem Land and on the east by the Cape York Peninsula. In the last ice age the Gulf of Carpentaria would have been dry land.

Quick Facts: –

  • The Gulf of Carpentaria is home to some of Australia’s most important undisturbed river systems, wetlands and marine environments.
  • It was explored by Matthew Flinders in 1802 and 1803. He also created a map or chart for it.
  • The Burke and Wills expedition, led by Robert O’ Hara Burke and William John Wills was the first expedition by land to arrive at the Gulf of Carpentaria.
  • This gulf includes many islands which are New Guinea Island, Vanderlin Island, Southwest Island, Sydney Island, and Mornington Island etc.
  • Groote Eylandt Island is the largest one on the Gulf of Carpentaria.
  • The region around this gulf has a hot and humid climate. It has two seasons in a year, dry season lasting from April to November and wet season from December to March.
  • The Morning Glory Cloud can be seen in the gulf’s southern part between the months of September and October.
  • Major rivers flowing into this gulf include Wilson River, Roper River, Flinders Rivers, Calvent River, Walker River, McArthur River, Cox River, Gilbert River etc.