Frog Habitat

Frog Habitat video:

                                                 Frog Habitat

A frog is an amphibian which lay its eggs in water. It starts out as larva living in water. Frogs can easily live both in water and on land. Their habitat must be near ponds, swamps or somewhere in a damp place because if their skin dries out, they will die. There are about 4,750 species of frogs around the entire world.

Fun Facts: –

  • Frogs never close their eyes even when they sleep. They can see forward, upward, sideways all at the same time.
  • Their eyes help them to swallow food.
  • Although, they breathe through their nostrils but they keep absorbing air through their skin as well.
  • They can be easily found on every continent except Antarctica.
  • Some species of frogs have toxic skins. Poison frogs usually have bright coloured skin.
  • Young frogs are called tadpoles. They look more like fish.
  • The Goliath frog is the largest species which can reach up to 30 centimetres is length and can weigh up to 3 kg.
  • The Gold frog is the smallest species which is only 1 centimetre in length and weighs only 200 gm.
  • They are carnivores and can eat almost every living thing that can fit into their mouth.
  • Frogs use their sticky tongues to catch their prey.
  • They are social animals and generally live in groups. Their groups can be called knot, colony or army.
  • They are cold blooded and cannot regulate their own temperature.
  • Frogs have an unusual heart formation. Their heart has 3 chambers instead of 4.