North Sea

The North Sea is a part of the Atlantic Ocean. It is located in northern Europe exactly between Norway and Denmark in the east, Scotland and England in the west, Germany, the NetherlandsBelgium and France in the south. It is bordered by eight European countries and separates the UK from the mainland of north-western Europe.

It is a young and shallow epeiric sea which is also one of the major fisheries in Europe. It accounts for more than 5% of international commercial fish caught. There are only nine epeiric seas in the world. It can be defined as a shallow body of water covering a continental shelf formed by glacial deposits.


Quick Facts: –

  • The North Sea is measured 970 kilometers in length and 580 kilometers in width. It has a total surface area of about 570,000 square kilometers.
  • It is the coldest sea on earth. It has an average temperature of 17°C in summer and 6°C in winter.
  • Despite being shallow at most parts, the deepest point of the sea reaches around 700 meters.
  • More than 230 fish species inhabit the sea and the Lesser Sandeel is the most abundant of all of them.
  • North Sea is fed by various large river systems from all around Europe including Thames, Elbe and Rhine rivers.
  • The total water volume of this sea is approximately 54,000 cubic kilometers.
  • It is also home to more than 50 island groups and most of them are situated near its Scottish and Danish coastlines.
  • The seawater itself flows in an anti-clockwise rotation pattern along the edges.