Fun & Easy Science for Kids
Sponsored Links :

Different Stages of Volcanic Eruptions


A volcano can be defined as an opening in the Earth’s surface through which magma and different gases rise and then eventually result in an eruption. A volcanic eruption is one of the most dangerous natural disasters. The volcanic vent sends out lava, ash and sometimes volcanic bombs. The slowly moving lava can cause a lot of damage to property and human life as well.

An earthquake can result in creating little vents. These vents allow the formation of magma. This magma is pushed up towards the crust of the volcano. When it reaches a certain level at boiling point, the eruption starts. The strength of different volcanic eruptions varies from one to another. Some eruptions are passive and not dangerous but some of them are very much explosive and destructive.

Sponsored Links :

Some of the largest volcanic eruptions of all time include:


Not every volcano will erupt from its peak. They can have eruptions at any part. These eruptions happen deep down inside the earth and are mostly caused by shifting in the tectonic plates.

Stages of Volcanic Eruption: –

The entire process of a volcanic eruption can be divided in three major categories: –

  • Magmatic eruption: – In this stage, gas is released under decompression.
  • Phreatomagmatic eruption: – In this stage of the eruption, thermal contraction comes from water.
  • Phreatic eruption: – This is the last stage when steam starts to erupt.



Cite This Page

You may cut-and-paste the below MLA and APA citation examples:

MLA Style Citation

Declan, Tobin. " Different Stages of a Volcanic Eruption for Kids ." Easy Science for Kids, Jun 2020. Web. 04 Jun 2020. < >.

APA Style Citation

Tobin, Declan. (2020). Different Stages of a Volcanic Eruption for Kids. Easy Science for Kids. Retrieved from

Cite this Page

Sponsored Links :