Fun & Easy Science for Kids
Sponsored Links :

The Alps


The Alps are the highest and the most extensive mountain range system in Europe. It is also the youngest and most densely populated mountain range on the continent being about 65 million years ago. It was formed when the African crustal plate shifted into Europe.

This mountain range stretches about approximately 1,200 kilometers across eight Alpine countries including Austria, France, Italy, Germany, Monaco, Slovenia, Switzerland and Liechtenstein.


Quick Facts: –

  • The Alps are divided into Western Alps and Eastern Alps. The Western Alps are higher than the Eastern Alps.
  • The Alpine region of Switzerland is referred to as the Swiss Alps.
  • The width of the mountain range is more than 200 kilometers at the broadest point between Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany, and Verona, Italy.
  • Major tall peaks include the Dufourspitze, Weisshorn, Finsteraarhorn, Matterhorn and Mont Blanc which is the highest peak of all measured at 4,809 meters.
  • There are approximately 13,000 species of vegetation and 30,000 species of wildlife that can be found in the Alps.
  • In 1991, a mummified man that is believed to be around 5,000 years old was found at the Austrian/Italian border.
  • The Alpine region covers around 11% of Europe and provides more than 90% of the water to lowland Europe.
  • The biggest city in the Alpine region is Grenoble. It is also known as the Capital City of Alps.
  • It is estimated that during the World War I, between 40,000 to 80,000 men died due to freezing weather and Avalanche activity in the region.



Cite This Page

You may cut-and-paste the below MLA and APA citation examples:

MLA Style Citation

Declan, Tobin. " Fun Facts for Kids about the The Alps ." Easy Science for Kids, Jan 2021. Web. 21 Jan 2021. < >.

APA Style Citation

Tobin, Declan. (2021). Fun Facts for Kids about the The Alps. Easy Science for Kids. Retrieved from

Cite this Page
Can not find what you looking for?


Sponsored Links :

Image Web Accessibile Compliant website